2020 Election

Your Hometown! guide to the 2020 elections

Stay up-to-date on candidates, events and issues

Open seats, incumbents and challengers for 2020

We’ll update our candidates list and profiles as candidates file before the Aug. 25, 2019 Primary Election.
We’ve included incumbents here for the moment, as many will likely run again.


Florida Congressional District 26
Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (D), Incumbent
Jose Peixoto (R)
STATE SENATOR – District 39
(Open Seat)
Angie Chirino (R)
Anna Hochkammer (D)
Jeanette M. Nunez (R)
(Open Seat)

County Commissioners

District 1
Danny Kolhage (D) (Incumbent)
Craig Cates (R)
District 3
Heather Carruthers (D) (Incumbent)
District 5
Sylvia Murphy (R) (Incumbent)
Mike Forster (R)

Constitutional Officers

Clerk of Court
Kevin Madok (R) (Incumbent)
Supervisor of Elections
R. Joyce Griffin (Incumbent)
Tax Collector
Danise (Dee Dee) Henriquez (D) (Incumbent)
Rick Ramsay (R) (Incumbent)
Property Appraiser
Scott Russell (Incumbent)

School Board

District 2
Andy Griffiths (Incumbent)
District 3
Mindy Conn (Incumbent)

Mosquito Control

District 1
Jill Cranney-Gage (R) (Incumbent)
District 3
Brandon Pinder (R) (Incumbent)
District 4
Stan Zuba (D) (Incumbent)

Judges & Court

State Attorney
Dennis Ward (R) (Incumbent)
Public Defender
Robert Lockwood (R) (Incumbent)
Circuit Judge 1
Mark Jones (Incumbent)
Circuit Judge 3
Luis Garcia (Incumbent)
Circuit Judge 4
Bonnie Helms (Incumbent)
County Judge 2
Mark Wilson (incumbent)

Key West Mayor and Commission

Key West Mayor
Teri Johnston (Incumbent)
City Commission Seat 1
Jimmy Weekley (Incumbent)
City Commission Seat 3
Billy Wardlow (Incumbent)
City Commission Seat 6
Clayton Lopez (Incumbent)

Utility Board

Seat C (Key West) *
Peter Batty Sr and Tim Root (Incumbents)
Seat E (Lower Keys)
Ysla Veliz

* The two seats currently held by Peter Batty Sr and Tim Root will be split:  1 seat in Key West (Seat C) and one seat (Seat E) to a new representative from the Lower Keys (open).

Call for Candidates

Hometown! Key West's annual Call for Candidates is 5-7:30 p.m., April 1, 2019, at Salute. Join us to meet the incumbents and potential challengers. A great way to make your choices.

Voter Resource Guide

Hometown's resource guide with links to the Monroe County Supervisor of Elections, provides extensive tools to help you register, get a mail-in ballot, review finance reports and answer your questions.